Krav Maga and Me

So about 6 months ago, I had a ping of a genius idea that I want to seriously kick some butt cheeks. Not in the metaphorical sense, totally in the physical.

Growing up, classes weren’t really an option, so I would stare into the abyss of the TV screen picking up what I could along the way (hence the superhero obsession paired with the presenting direction). The closest thing I achieved in the form of self defense was a monstrous skill at Thai Bo! I say monstrous, as I felt pretty kick-ass doing it. Many may remember it as an exercise program – I however remember it as a fierce learning of a pretty decent upper cut and leg kicking thing (it was that long ago) . Either way, it grew me an extremely prideful two-pack. My two-pack was my pride and joy, and yes, my two-pack will still rear its fascinating head about once a year depending on my activities. #Proud.

Okay, back to the main point – I wanted to learn to actually kick some buttocks.

It probably helped that I was working at Pinewood at the time on a movie set surrounded by stunt folk. Me being me, I decided that the only way I can take steps towards achieving butt kicking was to give myself a ‘realistic’ goal. I then proceeded to thinking ‘hey, if I start training for the stunt register, then that would give me the discipline to achieve the various skills I’ve wanted to achieve for years’. I then decided to begin three skills this year, and see how it goes.

First Skill? – Krav Maga!

IMG_6433.JPG

Krav Maga (as stated by the ever reliable Wikipedia) is ‘a self-defense system developed for the Israel Defence Forces (IDF) that consists of a wide combination of techniques sourced from aikido, judo, boxing and wrestling, along with realistic fight training’

I was instantly sold! – Next step? Arazou signs up!

So I started my training on January the 5th. In my head, I was ready to beat the whole system down and show them all what I’ve got. In reality, I swiftly realized I had a long way to go.

After having trained for two months now , I have started to learn various skills including getting out of a choke hold, punching a dude in the head, and the beauty in the power of a groin kick – it’s a wondrous skill I assure you.

Why am I writing this now? Because a few days ago I found out from my ex-army instructor (as in he is ex-army, not that I am) that I am ready for my first grading! (I’m still not convinced) but apparently I am so who am I to argue.

The way the grading system works – The levels progress from P1, P2, P3, P4 and P5. Then it goes from G1-G5 and eventually E1-E5. G5 is apparently considered black belt equivalent (I have a long way to go yet)

Anywho, I am going for my P1 this weekend! I’ll be going into it with a bunch of ‘Hayah!s’ and full throttle angry faces! I’ll let you know how it goes! Wish me luck 😉

2 thoughts on “Krav Maga and Me

Leave a Reply

